2 for TYRONE GAA as Donnelly and Harte named on 2016 GAA/GPA All Star Football Team

Tyrone GAA have picked up two all-star awards following this morning’s announcement of the 2016 GAA/GPA Opel All Star Football Team. While the awards ceremony takes place tomorrow evening, the football winners this time around have been announced a day in advance.

Little surprise to see Errigal Ciaran’s PETER HARTE and Trillick’s MATTHEW DONNELLY named in the All Star 15. Both had brilliant seasons and, having featured in a number of different lists in recent weeks, the pattern suggested that the duo would make the final fifteen.

Tyrone had received six nominations in all with Sean Cavanagh, Colm Cavanagh, Cathal McCarron and Niall Sludden also going into the pre selection discussions.

This is Matthew Donnelly’s second All Star award, having been named at number 10 last season in the team. Donnelly is undoubtedly one of the most influential players in the game in Ireland right now and takes up the number 9 position in the 2016 All Star team. He becomes the eighth Tyrone footballer ever to have won two all-star awards and remains the only Trillick clubman to have done so.


Matthew Donnelly and Peter Harte have been named in the 2016 All Star Football Team

Peter Harte has been named at right half forward in the side, thus seeing Tyrone GAA fill the number 10 jersey for the second year running. Harte becomes the 23rd Tyrone GAA footballer to win an all-star award and the fourth from the Errigal Ciaran club, joining Peter Canavan, Enda McGinley and David Harte.

CLICK HERE To read about the All Star nominations from Tyrone

The Player of the Year will be announced on Friday night with Mayo’s Lee Keegan joining Dublin’s Brian Fenton and Ciarán Kilkenny on the three-man list of nominees. While Lee Keegan really should be the ‘stand-out’ candidate for that award it would seem unlikely as Dublin will probably be given the accolade, having won the all Ireland and in light of the bad press received by Keegan.

Young Player of the Year will be decided between Mayo’s Diarmuid O’Connor and Tipperary’s Josh Keane and Jimmy Feehan.

The awards will be presented at a special banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre this Friday, November 4, 2016.

People Focus: Matthew Donnelly “keeping it real” and set for Oz test

The full GAA/GPA Opel All Star Football Team for 2016 is…

  • 1 David Clarke (Mayo) First time winner
  • 2 Brendan Harrison (Mayo) First time winner
  • 3 Jonny Cooper (Dublin) First time winner
  • 4 Philly McMahon (Dublin) Second time winner
  • 5 Lee Keegan (Mayo) Fourth time winner
  • 6 Colm Boyle (Mayo) Third time winner
  • 7 Ryan McHugh (Donegal) First time winner
  • 8 Brian Fenton (Dublin) Second time winner
  • 9 Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone) Second time winner
  • 10 Peter Harte (Tyrone) First time winner
  • 11 Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin) Second time winner
  • 12 Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin) Second time winner
  • 13 Dean Rock (Dublin) First time winner
  • 14 Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary) First time winner
  • 15 Paul Geaney (Kerry) First time winner

CLICK HERE to read the GAA official announcement of the All Star Football team this morning.

Did You Know…

Kevin McCabe was Tyrone’s first ever All star recipient back in 1980 when he was named at right-half back (no 5) in the team.

Here is the full list of the 23 Tyrone GAA All Star Footballers to date…

  • Peter Canavan (1994, 1995, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2005)
  • Sean Cavanagh (2003, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2013)
  • Philip Jordan (2003, 2005, 2008, 2010)
  • Eugene McKenna (1984, 1986, 1989)
  • Stephen O’Neill (2001, 2005, 2009)
  • Brian Dooher (2003, 2005, 2008)
  • Conor Gormley (2003, 2005, 2008)
  • Matthew Donnelly (2015, 2016)
  • Kevin McCabe (1980)
  • Frank McGuigan (1984)
  • John Lynch (1986)
  • Plunkett Donaghy (1986)
  • Damian O’Hagan (1986)
  • Fay Devlin (1995)
  • Finbarr McConnell (1996)
  • Cormac McAnallen (2003)
  • Brian McGuigan (2003)
  • Ryan McMenamin (2005)
  • Owen Mulligan (2005)
  • Justin McMahon (2008)
  • David Harte (2008)
  • Enda McGinley (2008)
  • Peter Harte (2016)

A total of 15 Tyrone GAA Clubs have thus seen all-star recipients since Kevin McCabe took the first to Clonoe in 1980. Peter Harte’s 2016 award means that Errigal Ciaran have the most footballers to win awards (4) but Moy still hold the largest number of actual awards, with 10 between Sean Cavanagh, Philip Jordan and Plunkett Donaghy.

  • Errigal Ciaran – 4 (9)
  • Moy – 3 (10)
  • Ardboe – 3 (3)
  • Augher – 1 (3)
  • Clann na nGael – 2 (6)
  • Carrickmore – 1 (3)
  • Trillick – 1 (2)
  • Clonoe – 1 (1)
  • Castlederg – 1 (1)
  • Coalisland – 1 (1)
  • Newtownstewart – 1 (1)
  • Eglish – 1 (1)
  • Dromore – 1 (1)
  • Cookstown – 1 (1)
  • Omagh – 1 (1)

Tyrone have lifted the Footballer of the Year on three occasions in the past:

  • 1995 – Peter Canavan
  • 2005 – Stephen O’Neill
  • 2008 – Sean Cavanagh

Frank McGuigan and Brian McGuigan are one of 9 “Father and Son” combinations to have won All Star Football Awards.

  • Pat Reynolds and Paddy Reynolds of Meath.
  • Dermot Earley and Dermot Earley, Jnr of Roscommon and Kildare.
  • Liam O’Neill of Galway and Kevin O’Neill of Mayo.
  • Frank McGuigan and Brian McGuigan of Tyrone.
  • Bernard Brogan Sr and Alan Brogan & Bernard Brogan Jr of Dublin.
  • Tim Kennelly and Tadhg Kennelly of Kerry.
  • Martin McHugh and Mark McHugh of Donegal.
  • Denis Ógie Moran and David Moran of Kerry.
  • Noel McCaffrey and Jack McCaffrey of Dublin.

Peter Canavan remains Tyrone’s most decorated all-star footballer with 6 awards overall, just one ahead of Sean Cavanagh who is on 5 awards. The latter of course has just announced his decision to remain for another season and could yet draw level with the brilliant 2003 winning captain.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *