St Macs make it title no 8, Coalisland lift Junior, Tyrone Ladies name “team of 25” & Carrickmore 1991 honoured

Share Story Facebooktwitterpinterestlinkedin

source link The Tyrone Ladies County Finals night in Killyclogher proved to be a momentous occasion indeed as the County Committee named the first ever “Team of 25”, presented the champions of 25 years ago for the first time during the senior final interval while the titles on the night were won by Coalisland and St. Macartan’s.

The big event of the night was of course the Tyrone Ladies senior final as St. Macartan’s powered to a hugely impressive 8th senior championship crown against championship final debutants, Killeeshil. It was a game in which the Clogher Valley outfit exhibited their peerless credentials with one of the most polished displays seen to date by a side in a county final.

St Macartans County Champions 2016

St. Macartan’s ladies celebrate their Senior Championship success in Killyclogher

St. Macartan’s went in at the half-time interval leading by 0-9 to 0-2 and second half goals from “Official player of the match”, Cathy Donnelly, and the Teamtalkmag Championship Top Scorer, Chloe McCaffrey, sealed the contest. A penalty goal conversion late on by Louise Kelly left the final score reading 2-16 to 1-4 in favour of St. Macartan’s.


This provided an eighth Tyrone Ladies Senior Championship title for the winning club, since they first collected the honours back in 1994, and a unique occasion for Deirdre McCarroll who has played in all eight winning sides, thus joining a very unique club of possessing eight Senior championship medals.

For Lynda Donnelly, Cathy Donnelly and  watch Maura McMenamin there was an added special presentation also as all three collected county championship medals while also picking up the prestigious accolade of being named on the “Team of 25 years”.

Lynda Donnelly and Donnelly girls celebrate 2016

The Donnelly quintet celebrate St. Macartan’s 8th Senior Championship triumph – (left to right) Lynda Donnelly, Cathy Donnelly, Maria Donnelly, Paula Donnelly, Joline Donnelly.

Cathy Donnelly made it a remarkable one as she also captained the St. Macartan’s side to their 8th title while picking up the Official Player of the Match award.

It was also a very significant occasion for Tyrone GAA star, Ryan McMenamin, who (along with Conor McCarroll) was managing his first team to a County Senior Championship title and of course will be bidding for the same feat again as a player with Dromore, who he will feature for on Sunday against Ardboe in the quarter final stages of the O’Neill Cup series.

Further photos and images of finals night to follow…

trada binära optioner CLICK HERE For full  match report at Teamtalkmag

Coalisland were also celebrating on the evening as they won a thrilling Junior Championship final, denying Mna na Deirge by the minimum margin, on a 2-7 to 1-9 scoreline.

Carrickmore LAdies SFC winners 1992

2016 brought the 25th year of the Tyrone Ladies senior club football championship and the very first winners from 1992, An Charraig Mhór, were honoured at tonight’s final.

For Lynette McShane (nee Hughes) it was also a defining moment in her career as she added a Tyrone Junior Championship medal to her phenomenal haul of 12 Senior championship medals with An Charraig Mhór, while she too was named on the impressive looking enter site “Tyrone Team of 25 Years”.

The team of 25 years was a representative team of the past quarter century and was part of an excellent initiative by the Ladies County Board to highlight the great success by the county teams on the provincial and national stage in that period.

Following the deliberations of the selection committee, the full team was named as below.

rencontrer une femme russe Hayley Boyle

(Galbally Oonagh Celts)

Tori McLaughlin


Maura Kelly

(St. Macartan’s)

Sinead McLaughlin


Connie Fox

(An Charraig Mhor)

Neamh Woods


Lynda Donnelly

(St. Macartan’s)

    Lisa McGirr                 Shannon Quinn

(St. Macartan’s)                 (Errigal Ciaran)

Lynette Hughes

(An Charraig Mhor)

Joanne Poyntz


Eilish Gormley

(An Charraig Mhor)

Cathy Donnelly

(St. Macartan’s)

Gemma Begley

(An Charraig Mhor)

Michaela O’Neill

(St. Enda’s)