Tyrone GAA: Omagh & Errigal Ciaran into SFC semis with 2 Replays to come…

The Tyrone Senior Club championship has been a finely balanced one in recent years and this weekend’s quarter-finals in the series have echoed those sentiments again.

While a few games have still to be decided, the draw for the 2017 semi-finals were announced this evening in Pomeroy and will see Omagh take on either Trillick or Coalisland and Errigal Ciaran to face either Clonoe or Pomeroy. Those two quarter-final replays will go ahead in Healy Park, Omagh, over the next two evenings.

Meanwhile in the Intermediate Football Championship, it will be Aghyaran v Derrylaughan and Moy v Gortin in the last four stage with the Junior Championship semi-finals to see league champions, Owen Roes, face Tattyreagh and Clogher v Clann na nGael.

  • Friday 29th September, Healy Park, 7.00pm: Clogher v Clann na nGael
  • Friday 29th September, Healy Park, 8.30pm: Owen Roes, face Tattyreagh
  • Saturday 30th September, in Pomeroy, 3.15pm, IFC Semi Final: Aghyaran v Derrylaughan
  • Saturday 30th September, in Pomeroy, 5.00pm, SFC Semi Final: Omagh v Coalisland OR Trillick
  • Sunday in Carrickmore, IFC Semi-Final, 3.15pm: Gortin v Moy
  • Sunday in Carrickmore, SFC Semi-Final, 5pm: Errigal Ciaran v Clonoe OR Pomeroy

#DonnellyVauxhallTyroneSFC QF1: Coalisland 1-10 Trillick 0-13

Following keenly contested round one encounters in the past week, the action opened on Friday evening with a rip-roaring contest involving the 2015 champions and 2016 runners-up, Trillick and Coalisland. A thriller of a Tyrone SFC quarter-final saw the teams serve up a cracking draw at Healy Park with Trillick coming from 1-7 to 0-5 behind to earn a draw. Lee Brennan with 0-6 for the 2015 champions, Patrick McNiece with the Fianna goal and levelling point (free).

  • Replay: Monday 25th September, 8pm, Healy Park, Omagh.

Coalisland: Patrick McNiece (1-2), Peter Heron (0-2), Stephen McNally (0-2), Dermot Thornton (0-2), Cathaoir Quinn (0-1), Cormac O’Hagan (0-1)
Trillick: Lee Brennan (0-6), Niall Gormley (0-3), Ryan Gray (0-2), Daniel McDonnell (0-1), Gavin McCarron (0-1)

#DonnellyVauxhallTyroneSFC QF2: Clonoe 0-13 v Pomeroy 0-13

2016 Tyrone Intermediate Champions, Pomeroy, raised many eyebrows with their eye-catching first-round victory over 2016 O’Neill Cup champions, Killyclogher, and for the majority of their quarter-final meeting with Clonoe, they looked set to go in again. The O’Rahilly’s showed incredible resolve to come from behind and deny Dromore in round one and they did the same again against the Plunkett’s on Saturday evening. Pomeroy were on fire in the opening half and by first-half injury time were 0-9 to 0-3 ahead, Frank Burns scoring 0-3, before Paul Coney made it 0-9 to 0-4 at the break. A Jude Campbell point on 52 minutes was Pomeroy’s last score of the game as they still led 0-13 to 0-9 before the Clonoe comeback saw them draw level in the 4th minute of injury time through Dan McNulty.

  • Replay: Tiesday 26th September, 8pm, Healy Park, Omagh.

Pomeroy: Frank Burns (0-3), Kevin Armstrong (0-1), Brendan Burns (0-2), Ollie McCreesh (0-1), Ryan Loughran (0-1), Aodhan Woods (0-1), Jude Campbell (0-2), John Loughran (0-2)
Clonoe: Dan McNulty (0-4), Declan McClure (0-3), Paul Coney (0-1), PJ Lavery (0-2), Dwayne Quinn (0-1), Conor McLaughlin (0-1), Colm Doris (0-1).

#DonnellyVauxhallTyroneSFC QF3: Omagh 1-16 Greencastle 0-7

  • McDonnell top-scores again as Omagh book semi-final place…

On Sunday at Killyclogher, just over two days after their eye-catching win over Ardboe in the Athletic Grounds (Armagh), Omagh served up a powerhouse display to defeat Greencastle by 1-16 to 0-7 in their championship quarter-final meeting at Killyclogher. magi led by 0-9 to 0-4 at half-time with Conor O’Donnell, after hitting 0-7 midweek, grabbing three points from play in that period and top-scoring again in the game with 0-5 from play. Barry Tierney bagged the second half goal with Conan Grugan chipping in with three points and Mark Carson hitting four for the St., Patrick’s.

Greencastle: Mark Carson (0-4), Cahir McCullagh (0-1), Chrissy Gillen (0-1), Daniel Tuohy (0-1)

Omagh: Conor O’Donnell (0-5), Barry Tierney (1-1), Conan Grugan (0-3), Joe McMahon (0-2), Ronan O’Neill (0-2), Connor Meyler (0-1), Ciaran McLaughlin (0-1), Jason McAnulla (0-1)

#DonnellyVauxhallTyroneSFC QF4: Errigal Ciaran 0-11 Carrickmore 0-8

An Charraig Mhor dominated the early stages of this contest, which was renewing rivalry the two big clubs of the nineties and noughties, and held a two-point interval lead, 0-6 to 0-4, with Penrose and Gormley both hitting two apiece. Mark Kavanagh really impressed in the second half with four super points while the sending off of Benny McLaughlin on 51 minutes, just as Kavanagh had put Errigal ahead for the first time, 0-8 to 0-7, proved decisive too as Errigal went on to book their semi-final place with three points to spare.

Errigal Ciaran: Mark Kavanagh (0-4), Padraig McGirr (0-2), Cathal McRory (0-1), David Harte (0-1), Peter Og McCartan (0-1), Ben McDonnell (0-1), Tomas Canavan (0-1)

An Charraig Mhor: Martin Penrose (0-4), Conor Gormley (0-2), Paul McAleer (0-1), Ruairi Loughran (0-1)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *