Tyrone maintain long winning sequence in Ulster with victory over St. Mary’s

Mickey Harte made 13 changes to the Tyrone GAA starting line-up for Game 2 of 2018 as Tyrone took on last season’s Sigeron Cup champions at Coalisland. It proved a tough encounter with the students before the Red Hands pulled away in the final quarter to win by five.

Having trailed 0-3 to 0-0, Tyrone came back to lead by 1-7 to 1-5 at the half-time break, with Omagh St. Enda’s GAC’s Ciaran McLaughlin scoring a fisted goal on his starting debut and Peter Harte adding 3 points. Ronan O’Neill (0-4) and Ronan McHugh (0-3) both popped up with points on the day while Augher’s Darragh Kavanagh also found his range three times for St. Mary’s.

The 100% record for 2018 continues for Tyrone who will be hot favourites to reach another Dr. McKenna Cup Final with one sectional game to come against Cavan, who lost out by four points to Antrim on Sunday.

Tyrone: Peter Harte (0-4), Ronan O’Neill (0-4), Ciaran McLaughlin (1-0), Ronan McHugh (0-3), Ben McDonnell (0-1), Michael McKermam (0-1), Niall Sludden (0-1), Mattie Donnelly (0-1), Tiernan McCann (0-1)

St Mary’s: Oisin O’Neill (0-5), Jarlath Og Burns (1-0), Darragh Kavanagh (0-3), Caolan McConville (0-1), Liam Devlin (0-1), Stephen McConville (0-1)

Tyrone have now scored 5-36 in the opening two games of 2017 with a total of 15 players getting their names on the scoresheet so far.

The O’Neill county, under Mickey Harte, are bidding for a 7th successive success in the Dr McKenna Cup and have maintained a near 3 year unbeaten run in the province!

Tyrone’s Peter Harte captained the O’Neill County to a 6th successive McKenna Cup win in 2017 and was on target with 4 points on Sunday before being black-carded against St. Mary’s, his former college.

Tyrone put 4-20 past Antrim in Game 1 of 2018 season…

McAliskey back as TYRONE begin ‘Magnificent 7’ Bid with emphatic 15 point win in 1st outing of 2018 against Antrim…

Tyrone GAA may have had to travel to Armagh to get their first home game of 2018 underway but there was no doubting their superiority in the province as the back-to-back reigning Ulster champions overpowered Antrim at the Athletic grounds.

The game was all but over by half-time, a Padraig McNulty goal making it 1-10 to 0-4 but there was some satisfaction to also see Clonoe O’Rahillys sharpshooter, Connor Mcaliskey make a welcome return to the starting line-up. The ace Tyrone attacker missed Tyrone’s championship run due to a cruciate ligament injury but is back for the start of 2018 and found the net on his return. #tyrone #tyronelife

Pomeroy Plunketts GAC’s Frank Burns & Dromore GFC’s Niall Sludden added Tyrone goals before the end as the winners of the past 2 Anglo Celt and 6 Dr McKenna Cups emerged with a comprehensive 15 points to spare, winning 4-20 to 2-11.

Tyrone: Frank Burns (1-3), Darren McCurry (0-6), Conor McAliskey (1-2), Cathal Mc Shane (0-4), Padraig McNulty (1-0), Niall Sludden (1-0), Mattie Donnelly (0-2), Ronan McHugh (0-2), Lee Brennan (0-1)

Antrim: Conor McGourty (0-4), Callum Duffin (1-1), Matthew Fitzpatrick (1-0), Ryan Murray (0-5), Conor Murray (0-1)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *